Research and Reflection

Michael Freeman: The Photographer’s Eye

I found this book very helpful to gain understanding of the basics, even though I already used most of it probably unconsciously, and I also read about them online like the golden ratio and rule of thirds, it helped me clarify and organise my existing knowledge which made me feel more confident. I understood and kept reminding me the importance of eye travelling in a certain pattern across the image when it’s well composed.  I found “diagonal tension” exciting, creating tension and sense of movement in a still image; how to frame the subject – even framing within the frame – or reworking the photograph by stitching, extending or cropping; or when to fill the frame and where to place the subject. I have read many different articles online about the the golden section proportions, the Fibonacci divisions before taking this course, how it appears to be everywhere, from plant to animal and human proportions, but it was still fascinating when I read about it in this book.

Learning to create interesting images with contrasts, different obvious shapes and implied ones were challenging but also very interesting, how our eyes translates the image for us it’s just fascinating. When I looked at a photograph I could obviously tell if I liked it or not but not necessarily know why, as I learned our eyes seek for balance and symmetry, these compositions are pleasing. I found it hard to achieve a good silhouette composition such as the “Burmese Monk” , it has to have a message to convey of course, otherwise it just looks like a badly exposed image. What I did like is rhythm and patterns, filling the frame with similar patterns or organising them in a certain order is very entertaining. Finding the right angle for my portraits is one of my weaknesses, I could be over thinking but I never truly satisfied with the results, but I found useful information for landscapes and street photography.

I think this book is a great beginner’s guide in a digestible form or a visual reminder for self taught photographers like myself before taking this course, I definitely got lot more confidence, and perhaps better eye for composition too.

 

 

Charlotte Cotton: The Photograph as Contemporary Art

I really enjoyed this book, it was refreshing to read something unexpected and provoking. I was looking forward to read each chapter as they have been divided into groups of photographers who share similar ideas and motivation, it is fascinating to read about how other people think and create.

The first chapter is about the stereotypical photographers trying to capture daily moments challenging the question “If This Is Art” or just every day documentary photography. I loved Philip-Lorca diCorcia’s idea setting up a flash on a scaffold in New York letting people to trigger as they walk by creating portraits unconsciously, or creating food art like Sophie CalIe,  or be daring like Gillian Wearing and ask strangers to write something about themselves on a piece of paper, I would like to come up with ideas like these.

The second chapter is about storytelling within the contemporary art category, looks like something just happened organically but in reality, it has been carefully staged and composed. This is what I have been trying to do with self portraiture, but creating something captivating from an everyday looking event is quite challenging,  this chapter was perfect for inspiration though.

The third chapter is about deadpan photography, as the name suggests, there is no expression or mood, the subject is simply exists on the photograph. This isn’t something I was particularly interested in, it feels sad and depressed to me even though it doesn’t meant to have any feel to it.

The forth chapter is about simply things, everyday objects made interested and quirky, I really enjoyed looking at these images and working out how it was done, also a realisation to appreciate everything around us as we often take things granted.

 

I haven’t finished this one just yet as I have been struggling to get free time while working almost every day, I found it extremely motivating so far, a real eye opener to different perspectives, almost like looking into these artist’s mind.

Leave a Reply

