Exercise 4. – Diagonals

For this exercise I was deliberately looking for obvious diagonal lines, to find the first image I walked across this bridge in Southport. As the lines are converging into the top of the bridge, the dark area make them look they are almost floating, it creates a very dynamic image, my eyes were drawn to that area straight away.

The second image was rather obvious even from great distance because of its triangular shape as well as the lines between the windows.

diagonals 1

Marine Way Bridge in Southport

diagonals 2

The Shard – London

diagonals 3

My bedside table, the book and morning light created shadows

diagonals 4

Cable car cables all the way up to Teide, the volcano in Tenerife

The third image was born as I woke up to a sunny morning one day. I slightly changed the position of the table to enhance the sun and window blinds created diagonal lines as well as I added extra contrast in post production to help define those shapes. I prefer this photo over the others, I like the fact that it was created for a short period of time unlike man-made objects.

On the last photograph the cables are running up to the volcano diagonally, I took this photo from the other cable car going up while the one I captured was going down.

Leave a Reply

